Alexander The Great

July 21, 2008

What Does This Look Like?

Filed under: Humor,Modern Life,Science — alexanderthegreatest @ 10:19 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Clades of the Christian Church

A clade is a branch (from the Greek).  Modern usage has this depict branches in a tree, and cladistics is the taxonomy of the tree of life.  Here is the source of the paradigm the chart above fits into

Phylogenetic tree of life

The tree of life

The circle is merely to conserve space – no metaphysics necessary. Notice how at the 5th and 6th level branchings, we se the beginnings of the pattern in the first chart, the one of Christian history?

Am I the only one who appreciates this irony?

Here’s a similar view of Linux distros – notice the children of Ubuntu

Linux

The idea is quite useful, because most things in our world fit into some type of hiercharchy, which lends itself to being shown as a tree. I’m a Christian myself, but I find it very amusing that Christian church history itself can be described by a series of 2 way forks – a perfect cladogram.

2 Comments »

  1. At the current rate, it’s increasingly likely there will be another clade to add to that diagram – the split of the Anglican church over gay and women bishops.

    While unity is always the best approach, it’s obvious that this issue isn’t going to go away and it’s one that both sides don’t want to compromise on – perhaps it’ll be best if the church does split over this and at least they’ll know where they stand.

    Personally, I think that celibate gay bishops should be allowed, but that homosexual marriages or the like shouldn’t. In my opinion, I can’t really see how the church can budge on this issue in the first place – to bless gay marriages is almost the same as blessing bestiality – both are forbidden in the Bible, but the church has decided that one is acceptable these days while the other isn’t. Perhaps Rowan Williams thinks he has more authority than the Word of God.

    Comment by Dan — July 22, 2008 @ 12:28 am | Reply

  2. Thanks for stopping by, Dan! Haven’t seen you in a while, so I’m glad to assume you’re still doing well?

    I agree that unity is a very good idea, and worth striving for. I also get the sense the Anglican church is getting ready for another schism – I see some things happening that go on in the USA. That’s not a good thing!

    In this case, tho, I think a split might be a good thing. I stopped going to church very often, because I learned I can talk to God anywhere I find myself – God is everywhere. One reason I do still show up in church is to be with other like minded worshippers. If people can come together easily and find others who share their faith, that’s a good thing!

    Comment by alexanderthegreatest — July 22, 2008 @ 5:53 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

