Alexander The Great

September 29, 2008

My Wish for Webmaster Talk

Filed under: Cool Site — alexanderthegreatest @ 8:54 pm

For those of you who don’t know, WT, or sometimes WMT, short for Webmaster Talk, is a forum of highly intelligent people discussing how to run a small business over the internet, among other subjects. Not very surprisingly, this is a popular subject on the web, and WT is not at all unique in turning a forum over to it. They’re unique in the people they’ve managed to attract.

Diana, aka LadynRed, seems like the world’s expert in markup. There is no HTML or CSS question she can’t answer, and it’s usually done in minutes. She’s pretty good with the Adobe software (Flash, Photoshop, etc), but this doesn’t interest me in the least. Steve, aka Van Gogh, and Chris, aka Chirs Hirst, aka the comic book man from The Simpsons, are experts in marketing, search optimization, and so on. Even if Chris H calls it optimisation.

What surprises me is a wider internet phenomenon, that people willingly donate their time to help strangers. This happens across the internet, almost no matter the subject. Yet, I watch advice given out that would cost hundreds of dollars, with detailed appraisals of code of all sorts, for all reasons.

My wish is that the database forum would be more used. There aren’t enough good challenges in there. 😀 Before long, it will be 20 years of professional experience I have in SQL programming. Like the rest, I enjoy helping solve questions, at least the ones offered in good faith. I’m only where I am because of all the help I’ve received from more people than I could ever count, and I’d like to pay the world at large back in ways like sharing knowledge. It should be freee anyway, and, like a candle, it can be shared with no cost.

3 Comments »

  1. That’s some experience you have under your belt!

    I think that you’ll get your wish as WT starts to see some growth (All part of my evil mastermind plan). Oh yes, don’t think you’re the only one starting a ….(what did James call it?)… DP invasion? :D.

    I consider your area of expertise to be one of the more complicated things on the web. I mean, I’m just a kid … I taught myself CSS, HTML, Design, and PHP … but I don’t think I’ll have any luck with anything database related! It’s one of those things you need a rocket science degree for! Maybe that’s just me :P.

    And as far as WT is concerned – there are some pretty colourful people in that forum.

    Comment by Andrei — September 30, 2008 @ 6:53 pm | Reply

  2. I think the forum could also benefit from a few stickies, DB resource sites, etc.

    Pretty soon I’m going to seriously get going on my project site I’ve been planning on for awhile and I’ll obviously need a DB (probably mySQL, as I’ll be programming in PHP). But the thing is I barely know a THING about Databases, other than WordPress and vBulletin require them to function properly.

    When I get around to my project, I’m going to have to build a DB from scratch, and right now I don’t even know where to begin.

    So anyway, you can expect a number of DB forum threads from me in the future over there. 😉

    Comment by James Lewitzke — October 1, 2008 @ 7:32 am | Reply

  3. I hate WMT – I mean, the forum isn’t bad but the people in it, I can’t stand them. Especially that guy who pretends to be a “Learning Newbie” when he has lots of experience and perfectly knows what he is talking about. How confusing is that?

    In case people outside of WMT read my comment: this is total sarcasm. I’m an active member of the forum and I have been through LOTS of forum and WMT and High Rankings are by far the two best ones I came across.

    Comment by Julien — October 3, 2008 @ 12:07 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

